Spicy Lobster Salad

Spicy Lobster Salad

Lobsters, pre-breakdown

Falls coming to an end, and I’ve been on yet-another-health-kick (henceforth known as YAHK). What this means is lots of salads- which I love, though it does get a bit monotonous after a bit.  I decided to mix things up a bit and bought a couple of Lobsters at my local fish market.  If you go this route, have them steam the lobsters for you, then throw them in the fridge. Break them apart when assembling the salad, I suggest kitchen shears for this task. It’s fast, clean, and most of the meat stays intact. Then get chopping- cut the lobster meat into bite sized pieces and add the vegetables of your choice. For this salad, I just used what I had on hand, lettuce, cucumber, sprouts, and some celery. I usually am a bit more ambitious, but I’ve been terribly busy lately.

You don’t need to use lobster meat for the protein, this also works well with chicken, steak, tempeh, beans, tofu- you name it really. The key to this recipe is the dressing which is intense, so you won’t need a lot. This has been adapted from Nobu: The Cookbook. The full recipe is available at Epicurious. Enjoy!

Lobster Salad

For Spicy Lemon Dressing

  • 1/4 cup lemon juice- usually the juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon finely grated garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili garlic sauce, I usually purchase this from an Asian market place.
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • a little freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 tablespoons Safflower oil

Leave a Reply

